House, Coronation Boundary Marker, Early Man Site, Fort DeL'Isle, Fort George, Fort Vermilion, Fort Victoria, Fort White Earth, Frog Lake Massacre, Hay Lakes Telegraph Station, Massacre Butte, Ribstones, Standoff, Stephansson and Twelve Foot Davis.

Provided also for Albertans are the Wilderness Provincial Park, which adjoins Jasper National Park in the north and extends along the British Columbia border, and two wilderness areas established under the Forest Reserves Act in 1961. The Wilderness Provincial Park has an area of 2,149 sq. miles, Siffleur Wilderness 159 sq. miles and White Goat Wilderness 489 sq. miles. These areas have been set aside to preserve as far as possible the natural scene and are not subject to any development or provided with roads.

British Columbia.—There are 200 provincial parks in British Columbia with a total area of 9,964 sq. miles. These parks are classified as A, B and C. Class A parks are reserved solely for recreational purposes; some are highly developed and others are wilderness areas. Class B parks are set aside primarily for recreation, but regulations permit other natural resource use where this is not in conflict with recreation. Class C parks are administered in detail by a Parks Board of local citizens, under the over-all jurisdiction of the Minister of the Department of Recreation and Conservation. British Columbia parks are in many stages of development and dedicated to a variety of recreational uses. There are immense wilderness areas such as Tweedsmuir Park and Wells Gray Park. Outstanding scenic and mountain reserves include Garibaldi, Mount Robson, Manning and Bowron Lakes Parks. The formal gardens of Peace Arch Park are a monument to the goodwill between Canada and the United States. Vancouver Island has a chain of small forested parks that have achieved tremendous popularity with tourists—the best known are Little Qualicum Falls, Miracle Beach and Goldstream. The famous gold town of Barkerville has been restored to become the first Provincial Historic Park. Five marine parks with mooring facilities and campsites have been developed on the islands of the Straits of Georgia for the benefit of water-borne recreationalists. The popularity of the province's parks, with their integrated campsites and picnic areas, is attested by the record number of 3,700,000 visitors during 1962. Of these, 840,000 were campers and the remainder were day visitors. Records show that Mount Seymour, Cultus Lake and Alouette Lake Parks were the most popular.

Subsection 3.—Canada's National Capital*

Ottawa, the city selected by Queen Victoria in 1857 to be the seat of government for the Province of Canada in British North America, was designated the National Capital upon Confederation on July 1, 1867. The community had grown out of the military and construction camp that served as headquarters for the building of the Rideau Canal, a project carried out between 1826 and 1832 to establish a safe navigable waterway between Lake Ontario and the Ottawa River. The building of the Canal was the crowning achievement in the life of a distinguished British military engineer, Lieutenant-Colonel John By, R.E., who gave his name to the new settlement inhabited mainly by stone-masons and discharged soldiers. As time passed, Bytown prospered as a timber centre and was incorporated as a town in 1847. Then, on Dec. 18, 1854, the name of Bytown was changed to Ottawa and under that name the community was incorporated as a city on Jan. 1, 1855.

The city, situated in an area of great natural beauty and surrounded by waterways, has remained a self-governing municipality and, although throughout the years the Federal Government co-operated with the municipal authorities in the development of a system of driveways and parks, the city expanded without the benefit of a comprehensive plan. However, in 1950 a Master Plan was presented to the Government of Canada, designed to guide the development of the Capital's urban area over the following half-century and to protect the beauty of the surrounding National Capital Region. This Region originally covered 900 sq. miles but was increased in 1959 to 1,800 sq. miles—half in the Province of Ontario and half in the Province of Quebec. Although the successful implementation of

^{*} Prepared in the Information and Historical Division, National Capital Commission, Ottawa.